Con Brio Presents: The Vanbrugh

The Vanbrugh with Michael McHale
Malachy Robinson

Malachy Robinson


Franz Schubert (1797-1828) Piano Quintet in A major, D.667 Trout Quintet
J. Brahms (1833-1897) Piano Quartet No.3 in C minor Op.60


The Vanbrugh Quartet were frequent and welcome visitors to our series. Following the retirement of first violinist Gregory Ellis from quartet performance in 2017, Keith, Simon and Chris continue as The Vanbrugh and perform with selected guest artists. In this case Michael McHale at the piano and Malachy robinson at the double bass (both old friends of Con Brio). The Trout Quintet is one of the best known works in all classical music, a delight for the senses. Pure joy from a composer who had a short and tragic life but left so much great music behind! Brahms’ C minor Piano Quartet was first performed in Vienna on November 18, 1875, with the composer himself at the piano.

Followed by a Meet the Artist reception. All Welcome.

Admission: €25 Full Price / €10 (students on the night) / €5 Children

Buy Tickets