Con Brio Presents; The Piatti Quartet

The Piatti Quartet
Alexander Borodin (1833-1887)   Quartet No.2 in D Major
Joesph Phibbs (1974)   String Quartet No.1
Ian Wilson (1964)   Rossiniana
L. van Beethoven (1770-1827)   String Quartet No. 9 in C major, Op. 59, No. 3,  Razumovsky


The Piatti Quartet are one of the most distinguished quartets of their generation. Prize-winners at the 2015 Wigmore Hall International String quartet Competition, they have performed in all the major venues and festivals around the UK and throughout the world.

Joe Phibbs is a composer of orchestral, choral and chamber music. His String quartet No.1 was composed for the Piatti.

Rossiniana, my 19th String quartet (2018), was written as a gift to Luisa MacConville to celebrate the 20th anniversary season of Con Brio. As the quartet’s title suggests, the work references Gioachino Rossini, Luisa’s favourite composer. Indeed, the work actually consists of over 40 fragments from a dozen or so works by Rossini; my job as a composer was to find the best way to knit all these fragments together”. Ian Wilson

Followed by a Meet the Artist reception. All Welcome.

Admission: €25 Full Price / €10 (students on the night) / €5 Children

Buy Tickets