Con Brio Presents; The Irish Chamber Orchestra

Irish Chamber Orchestra

Katherine Hunka (Director/violin), Nicola Sweeney (violin), Christian Elliott (cello), Malachy Robinson (double bass)


Alfred Schnittke (1934-1998) Moz-Art à la Haydn
Franz Schubert (1797-1828) Rondo for Violin and String Orchestra (D.438)
Ian Wilson (1964) Seventh Seal Concerto for Cello, Double Bass and String Orchestra. World Premiere.
Commissioned by ICO and funded by the Arts Council of Ireland
Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires


The Irish Chamber Orchestra is Ireland’s most dynamic ensemble and we are delighted to have them back with an eclectic programme including a world Première!

Astor Piazzolla’s Four Seasons of Buenos Aires depicts the moods of the city. Summer contrasts the sassy, rhythmic tango with remnants of the Italian Baroque while a beautiful melancholic solo dominates Autumn.  Katherine dazzles in Winter with cadenza-like displays of virtuosity. Piazzolla’s intensely emotive Winter tango contrasts with a Spring in Buenos Aires, filled with excitement as rhythmic electricity propels this work to a brilliant conclusion.  The Rondo for Violin and String Orchestra is undoubtedly Schubert’s concerted masterpiece – a virtuosic piece, it is fresh, lyrical and totally lovable. Schnittke’s extraordinary ability to fragment and reassemble diverse components in a variety of ways is evident in Moz-Art à la Haydn.  The building blocks, combine elements from an unfinished pantomime, his Symphony No. 40 and Haydn’s Farewell Symphony as it brims with virtuosity, wit and flair.

Followed by a Meet the Artist reception. All Welcome.

Buy Tickets