Con Brio & Music Network present Sax Trio

Amy Dickson, Sonoko Miriam Welde & Simon Mulligan

Sun. 13 Mar. 4pm
€10 (students)
€5 (children).

Discounted tickets available at the door.

Book Now


Amy Dickson, saxophones
Sonoko Miriam Welde, violin
Simon Mulligan, piano

Discover the extraordinary sonic beauty of this trio featuring twice Grammy-nominated saxophonist Amy Dickson, violinist Sonoko Miriam Welde and pianist Simon Mulligan.

Performing together for the first time on this Music Network tour, this trio of extraordinary musicians has selected a programme which showcases both their virtuosity and ability to creatively adapt much-loved music to their unusual combination of instruments.

Incorporating elements of folk and popular music from around the world, their performances will include Gershwin’s jazz-infused Rhapsody in Blue, Ravel’s famous Bolero, and Amy Dickson’s gorgeous transcription of Philip Glass’s shimmering violin sonata, alongside a new Music Network commission by Ronan Guilfoyle.

Listen and enjoy, as metal, wood and string alchemize in the hands of these highly accomplished musicians, to produce an extraordinary musical soundscape of breath-taking beauty.


Poulenc  L’Invitation au Château
Defontaine Couleurs d'un Rêve
Milhaud Scaramouche
Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue (arr. Simon Mulligan)
Ronan Guilfoyle New Music Network Commission
Debussy Violin Sonata in G Minor
Philip Glass Sonata for Violin and Piano, 3rd Movement (transcr. Amy Dickson)
Ravel Bolero (arr. Simon Mulligan)

“Amy Dickson is not just an outstanding saxophonist, she’s a musician full of curiosity to explore the full potential of her instrument – thoroughly recommended.”
David Mellor – Classic FM

“one of the finest pianists I have ever had the pleasure of performing with”
Yehudi Menuhin [on Simon Mulligan]

“She has a sound that is both touching and fascinating.”

RESM Leif Ove Andsnes & the Equinor Scholarship jury [on Sonoko Miriam Welde]



Amy Dickson - Glass: Sonata for violin and piano (Arr. for saxophone): Movement III



Simon Mulligan

British pianist Simon Mulligan has been described by the Times of London as ‘the most abundantly gifted of pianists’.

The trio’s programme takes elements of folk and popular music from around the world and uses them to conjure up unfamiliar and diverse soundscapes. Featuring the jazz influenced Histoire Du Soldat and Bartok’s Contrasts (partly inspired by the blues aspect of Ravel’s violin Sonata) alongside a new Music Network commission by Ronan Guilfoyle – expect to hear well-known and new music in a beguiling and bold sound world.


Music Network Ireland