31 Dec. 1969 - 18 Apr. 2010

Concert 4: Sacred Chants

The final concert of the 2010 Sligo New Music Festival is a short concert of Sacred Chants, composed and performed by soloist Seán Óg.

Sean Og

Sacred Chants is a new performance piece for solo saxophone and electronics based on the beautiful sacred chants of Hildegard von Bingen, G.I. Gurdjieff and sacred Irish music. The centuries old tradition of church and sacred music provides a rich seam of atmospheric melodies and mesmeric improvisations. The sources chosen here represent the long adorned melodies of Gregorian chant, Seán’s own compositions and melodies from Asia Minor and the fringes of Europe.

Concert Programme

Seán Óg: Sacred Chants (40’) Seán Óg

Buy Tickets Online